I was once homeless around this time of year

“Don’t save it all for Christmas day – ‘Cause holidays have come and gone”
– Céline Dion, Don’t save it all

2016 is finally coming to an end and we can all rejoice. Nonetheless, the holidays and the seasons greetings and tidings are finally here. Between gazing into the windows of stores on the mag mile and asking my neices and nephews if they’ve been good this year, I find myself overcome with a bag of emotions that range from happiness, humility, and even sadness.

8 years ago around this time, I was homeless.

When the economy collapsed in 2008, my parent’s business had collapsed alongside with it. After depleting the savings that my parents had worked hard for, our suburban, gated-community, five-acre, four bedroom home was given back to the bank.  At 16 years old, I found myself staring at the foreclosure sign nailed on my childhood home.

We lost everything.

Subsequently, my parents ended up losing their 20 year marriage amidst the crisis. My mother, emotionally distraught, went to live with distant family, leaving me and my now single-father behind. We stayed on the streets until we were able to get some help from a local charity. We spent months sleeping in churches until my father was able to get back on our feet, and eventually, a place to live.

Looking back on the adversity that I faced, I am so thankful that others reached out and changed the lives of me and my father. Now that I’m in a position to help others, I always seek to give back when I can, albeit by compassion or by financial means with no merit in return. Most importantly, I wouldn’t be able to help if it weren’t for the generosity of the gentlemen that I have met in my life.

Thank you so much.

As a person who has been humbled by life experiences, I can say that I have had and that I’ve gone without. I’ve found that nothing in life is ever permanent, whether it be advertisy or even prosperity. What you might have today is something that you might not have tomorrow. Life is that unpredictable, and that is something that we can all understand.

For those of us who have opportunity, make sure to show your compassion and understanding not only this holiday sesason, but all year round.

Please donate to charity today.

Warm Regards,
Adrienne Baptiste


CHARITIES IN CHICAGO 

Greater Chicago Food Depository
4100 W. Ann Lurie Place
Chicago, IL 60632
(773) 247-3663
www.chicagosfoodbank.org

Heartland Alliance for Human Needs and Human Rights
208 S. LaSalle St., Suite 1818
Chicago, IL 60604
(312) 660-1300
www.heartlandalliance.org

Catholic Charities of Chicago
721 N LaSalle St
Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 655-7700
https://www.catholiccharities.net/

Salvation Army Angel Tree
5040 N. Pulaski Rd
Chicago, IL 60630
773-725-1100
http://centralusa.salvationarmy.org/metro/angeltree/

Metropolitan Family Services
Midway Children’s Center
3215 W. 63rd St.
Chicago, IL 60629
(773) 884-2350
www.metrofamily.org

One thought on “I was once homeless around this time of year

  1. For the last 4 years I have been homeless. This is the worst time of year for me.
    Thank you for your compassion.
    Ironically we have met, in Dallas, a few years ago. I was impressed with you then . Even more so now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

